by Burn the Iris

  • Streaming + Download

    Immediate download of the 'Sovereign' album in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other format you could possibly desire.

      €4 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    The Sovereign EP comes in a limited digipak cover sleeve, containing the following tracks:

    1. Holding Time
    2. Old Son
    3. (Sovereign) Ghost

    Running time: approx 21 minutes
    ships out within 14 days

      €5 EUR


(free) 06:34
(free) 05:02


In 2007 five men gathered in the lower regions of The Netherlands to form Burn the Iris.

Deriving inspiration from a vast variety of great bands such as The Ocean, Isis and Burst,
while at the same time confronting mutual differences, the band initiated the creation of aggressive, catchy grooves of their own.
At the end of 2007 they released their first promo CD, in 2010 the ‘Sovereign’ EP saw daylight.

The press described their first recordings as “Tight as hell, various as a roller-coaster” (Fret) and claiming they “...mercilessly pound with aggression, tempo changes and some truly epic moments” (Terrorizer). With their new material everybody is in for even more heaviness.

Burn the Iris are:
Vocals - Richard
Guitars - Robin
Guitars - Igor
Bass - Mathijs
Drums - Erwin

Sovereign track listing:
1. Holding Time
2. Old Son
3. (Sovereign) Ghost

Burn the Iris on MySpace:

Downloadable album cover of the Sovereign EP:

Hi-res band photos (photos by Roel Simons):

Contact Burn the Iris:
info [at ]


released September 1, 2010

©2010 Burn the Iris

Produced by Marc van den Boom & Burn the Iris
Engineered & mixed by Marc van den Boom
@The Epic Centre, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

Mastered by Paul Matthijs Lombert
@The Mastering Factory, Eindhoven, The Netherlands

All music by Burn the Iris, - All lyrics by Richard Spierings
Additional vocals on ‘Old Son’ and ‘(Sovereign) Ghost’ by Tamara Clijssen
Additional samples by BTI & Marc van den Boom
Artwork and design by

info [ at]



all rights reserved


Burn the Iris Netherlands

Expect some heavy low tuned riffs, fast paced drum patterns and vocals that will take you from the depths of grinding death growls to catchy melody lines!

contact / help

Contact Burn the Iris

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: (Sovereign) Ghost
Where are we now in this silent parade?
Sudden Ghost
Scarlet Ghost
Moving through me.

Siren songs
Songs of love.
Spitting love.

Siren Ghost Holy Ghost.
Our hearts beat, beat as one.

A last pulse. As nothing retreats.
Hollow Ghost Walk astray.

Staring into hollow eyes.
Waves of stone divide us.
Emerge. Revolve. Remove. Lost.

And now I break loose, from you.
Surrender now.

Silence, this profound silence. Derelict love, killing caress Stone cold lips, kissing goodbye. And now, now I break loose. From you.

Sovereign ghost. Back in exile. Serenity. Slit your throat.

Embrace the Sun.
Track Name: Old Son
Old son… speak to me.
And bury the old dead tree
Old son speak to me.

Bury these arms
Two suns in orbit.
The long forgotten shadows.
Waiting for the birds.
To take away the burden.

We faced the ocean.
And watched it burn.

We smiled and watched it burn.
Track Name: Holding Time
For now I will sink down.
Shadows dripping on the floor.
The one finger salute.

Save me. Seal me. Purge me.

We built a wall together.
The sun will try to break through.

A lucid dream,
Break the waves.
We built this wall together.
Breaking the waves.

For now I will let go. Let it go.
The air waves rolling back in.
One giant leap.
I hold still.
A fierce attempt to escape.

Breathe. Breach. Burst.

We built this wall together.
The sun will try to break through.
An everlasting dream,
Quick sand heartbeats.
Drifting away...
And now I rise

I lost it once, won’t lose it again.
Not again.

We, the kids from Nostalgia City.
Oblivion is our name.
The past lies ahead. All is lost.
Please save a sunbeam for us.